NO WRONG MOVE..

I am at a place in my relationship with God where I believe that I know when God is leading me, but sometimes, the things that happen after I make the decision make me wonder if I really heard God. I read a story in the Bible that cleared this up for me.

The apostle Paul, after his conversion, suffered persecution from various angles. He was willing to go through the sufferings for the sake of the gospel but he was also a highly educated man who knew his rights. He didn’t allow the authorities to maltreat him. 

Once after he was arrested and taken to court, he assessed how he was being tried and decided that he wanted his case to go to the highest authority for fairness. He appealed to Caesar himself! (Something like an appeal to be tried in a Supreme Court instead of a lower court) 

“If I have done something worthy of death, I don’t refuse to die. But if I am innocent, no one has a right to turn me over to these men to kill me. I appeal to Caesar!”” Acts of the Apostles 25:11 NLT

I liked this part of the story because it showed that Christians should be wise and not suffer due to ignorance. I however started to wonder if Paul made the right call when I read the story further. I learnt that different notable officials came to listen to Paul while waiting to be transported to Caesar and one of them made a comment after hearing him….

“Then Agrippa said to Festus, “This man might have been set free if he had not appealed to Caesar.”” Acts 26:32 NKJV

So was Paul wrong to appeal to Caesar?  I wondered if he was too hasty in his decision, but the Holy Spirit helped me to understand that Paul was just fine where he was. I remembered that before he was arrested, he had said goodbye to some of his friends stating that they might never see him again. God had told  him that he would face troubles in Jerusalem.  I also noticed that God continued to guide him after he appealed to Caesar. In fact, many of the letters in the New Testament came out of that period of incarceration. So whatever decision he made at that time, hasty or not, God was with him. 

“So we are convinced that every detail of our lives is continually woven together for good, for we are his lovers who have been called to fulfill his designed purpose.” Romans 8:28 TPT

What I learnt from this story is that I must trust that God is in control in my life, and He is working everything out for my good, even if it looks like I made a wrong call. I tell you, every decision I make is valid and good as long as I truly open up my heart to be guided by the Holy Spirit on the matter. 

The fact that things are happening to suggest that I made a wrong decision does not mean that I actually made a wrong decision. Even people who have truly walked with God for a long time with “expertise” in hearing God sometimes wonder.

You know what? We cannot “outthink” God! His footpaths are in the midst of the waters! We cannot guess how He intends to fulfil His promises or work things out. As for me, I have since given up trying to guess how He will come through because I get surprised every time! 

“Your road led through the sea, your pathway through the mighty waters— a pathway no one knew was there! Psalms 77:19 NLT

My message to you today is that you continue to trust the Holy Spirit as He guides you and be bold to take the decision He leads you into. Even if it looks like you made the wrong call after, God still got you! 

Pray with me: Dear Father, author of life and the captain of my destiny! There is none as wise as you! There is no situation that can box you into a corner! Where ever I find myself right now, you know the way and I know you want to show me.  Nothing in my distant past or recent past can alter your plan for me because you are in control. I yield myself to you today to be led by your Holy Spirit into a glorious and fulfilling destination in Jesus name. I have no reason to regret or feel dejected because my life is hid in Christ in you! Thank you my Father! In Jesus name I pray. Amen! 

Worship with me: On mountaintops, You stay the same. In valleys low, You never change. And I believe that I will see, the goodness of the Lord. I’m confident, as seasons change, Your faithfulness remains. You never change!

God of my present, God of my future, You write my story, You hold it all together!

If this has blessed you, please share the link with your friends and subscribe to this blog by clicking on the menu tab at the top right corner of this page.

2 thoughts on “NO WRONG MOVE..

Leave a comment