COMPASS FOR “Magic”

Everyday, new experiences and new challenges come to us whether we are ready for them or not. Everyone must therefore go somewhere to get their motivation, inspiration and strength to navigate through those experiences. Everyone needs to have somewhere they go to get their special “kick” or “mojo” or “magic” or “supernatural” that helps them to translate every experience into growth and success.

As for me, I get my “mojo” from the Bible, and you just have to believe that I’m not being cheesy or “forming spiritual” here. Countless times, I have gotten guidance from the word of God on how I ought to behave in a situation, how to react to a person, how to plan for a job, how to get the confidence I need to face a challenge, or how to find peace to hold on through a situation. I tell you, it’s the super to my natural self. It is my utmost secret!

“I hear the Lord saying, “I will stay close to you, instructing and guiding you along the pathway for your life. I will advise you along the way and lead you forth with my eyes as your guide.” Psalms 32:8 TPT

When I read the Bible, I learn in two ways:

First thing I get is the knowledge and understanding of the content of the Bible as it is written. I can learn obvious lessons from the stories and instructions.

The second thing I get is spiritual insights as the Holy Spirit opens my mind to grasp information or instruction that was not expressly written in the text. For instance, when I read the story of David and Goliath in 1Samuel 17, I read somewhere in the text that King Saul gave his own personal armor to David to fight Goliath but David rejected it saying that he wasn’t used to the armor and he would stick to his sling and stone.

“Then Saul gave David his own armor—a bronze helmet and a coat of mail. David put it on, strapped the sword over it, and took a step or two to see what it was like, for he had never worn such things before. “I can’t go in these,” he protested to Saul. “I’m not used to them.” So David took them off again. He picked up five smooth stones from a stream and put them into his shepherd’s bag. Then, armed only with his shepherd’s staff and sling, he started across the valley to fight the Philistine.” 1 Samuel 17:38-40 NLT

When I read this part, the insight I got from the Holy Spirit was that I should build my own relationship with God and find what works for me in my journey with God. I noted the word and focused on being authentic in my relationship with God.

These two points above are just the beginning of how I know the mind of God.

The “magic” is actually created when the Holy Spirit guides me using the storage of knowledge and insight in my heart. It is like God uses the storage of His word in my heart to guide me, such that the more of the word of God and insights I have stored up, the more guidance I can get to win in my daily life

For instance, when I suffered unfair treatment from someone, it was so terrible that close friends and family asked me to start praying that God should fight for me. When I started praying however, the Holy Spirit reminded me about the lesson I learnt from 1 Sam 17 about dealing matters in a way that I have proven with God. I changed my prayer direction and asked instead that God should draw my “adversary” close to him. I took the path of loving my “enemy” instead of fighting my “enemy”, and the outcome was amazing protection and elevation!

“And the Spirit of the Lord will rest on him— the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and the fear of the Lord.” Isaiah 11:2 NLT

Other times, the Holy Spirit will give me new insights as I read the Bible for whatever situation I am in. Sometimes, He even gives me insight to share with someone else who may need the direction at the time.

This happens to me all the time and it is the way I navigate the uniqueness of each day and each season.

I thought to share this to encourage anyone out there who may be looking for a compass to navigate their lives. To encourage anyone who may be wondering how to hear from God. I trust that as you pick up the daily routine of studying the word of God and opening up to the Holy Spirit, that God will open to you the doors of revelation and clarity!

Pray with me: Dear Father, I thank you for the gift of your word and your Holy Spirit. Thank you because I am not comfortless, neither am I stranded. I pray Lord that you open my eyes to wonderful revelations, inspirations and understanding from your word as I study to hear from you daily. I ask that my heart will be receptive to gain understanding. I pray for clarity of mind to know what I ought to do at all times in Jesus name. I confess that I work and walk in the supernatural everyday in Jesus name!

Worship with me: I can see it all around me, yeah. I’ve got my health and my strength, oh. When I look at my family, Can’t help but see the evidence. Some think that we’re crazy, to praise like we praise, but if they’d look back, then they’d do the same. Where would I be, without Your mercy? Where would I be, without Your grace? Where would I be, without Your favor? One thing’s for certain. Your hand’s on me!

If this has blessed you, please share the link with your friends and subscribe to this blog by clicking on the menu tab at the top right corner of this page.

Leave a comment