MY DELIVERANCE STORY

About 10 years go, I was wrongly accused of a crime by some law officials and I was held in police custody for 5 days. All odds was against me because even the high ranking officials had believed the wrong accusation. I was so stunned as the events unfolded before my eyes. It was like a movie….I couldn’t even pray and we didn’t know who to call for help. By the end of day 2 in custody and without calling on anyone, God started to raise people from several places to fight for me. 

All of a sudden, special investigators came from the capital (Abuja) to investigate the incident, people I didn’t know called in from different countries to defend me, a crowd gathered in front of the police station to see how the case would be treated. I didn’t know these people! My bosses from work showed up to support me. wow! It was like a movie! 

At some point my husband asked me “Yinka, are we very good people?” I guess he was wondering why so many people we knew and even strangers were rising up to support us. Honestly, neither of us had the answer. The only conclusion we had was that God Himself was raising people from different walks of life to deliver me and indeed I was delivered and cleared so miraculously! 

“my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety. He is my refuge, my savior, the one who saves me from violence.” 2 Samuel 22:3 NLT

After I was cleared of all charges, I was happy to go back to work and everyone received me happily. I was however informed of a colleague who was happy about what I was going through and said that “it served me right”. 😳😳😳 My goodness! This further convinced me that my deliverance was orchestrated by God Himself. He stirred up the hearts of people to be willing to help and He enabled them to help me despite the odds. 

“And they came, each one whose heart stirred him up and whose spirit made him willing, and brought the Lord’s offering to be used for the [new] Tent of Meeting, for all its service, and the holy garments.” Exodus 35:21 AMPC

So I will not deceive myself to say that my deliverance came just because I was a good person and people were obligated to help. I have been in situations where I was confident that someone would “help” me, but I was disappointed in the end. In some cases, the “ helper” indeed wanted to help me but things just did not work out. I have also seen people who smile at me and run around to impress me but I discovered later that they are disloyal people. I don’t bother myself anymore to find out which category someone falls. I have learned not to hold a grudge against people because they don’t help me, because I also got help from people I did not expect help from. 

“For I the Lord your God hold your right hand; I am the Lord, Who says to you, Fear not; I will help you!” Isaiah 41:13 AMPC

“So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7 NLT

My conclusion is that my help comes from God. I derive joy from the way God eventually makes a way for me because in those times, it was clear to me that my breakthrough came from God and not man. 

What I’ll like you to learn from my deliverance testimony today is that God is dependable and He is enough. All we need to do is to show Him that we trust Him through our obedience. I heard from a preacher that God’s love language is obedience. We can show Him our obedience by showing up in front of Him daily to commune sincerely with Him. God is the ultimate connection we need for our promotions and deliverance. 

Pray with me: Dear Father, I thank you for the many many times you have delivered me and made a way for me. I thank you for the ones I am aware of and the ones I am not aware of. I declare today that You are my ultimate connection and to you I look for my deliverance and breakthrough. I release people who have failed me or stood against me, and I embrace your peace and your hand upon me. As I seek you daily, I confess that I trust you and I expect to see your hand of deliverance and breakthrough in my life everyday in Jesus name! 

Worship with me: When did I start to forget, all of the great things You did? When did I throw away faith for the impossible? How did I start to believe You weren’t sufficient for me? Why do I talk myself out of seeing miracles? You are more than able. You are more than able. You are more than able. You are more than able! Who am I to deny what the Lord can do?

If this has blessed you, please share the link with your friends and subscribe to this blog by clicking on the menu tab at the top right corner of this page.

4 thoughts on “MY DELIVERANCE STORY

  1. Psalm 46:1-2
    1 God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.
    2 Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea

    Thank God for what his marvellous deeds in your life.
    Thanks be to God who worketh so wondrously
    Thanks be to God for mercy so great
    Alleluia our God lives for evermore
    Alleluia, Amen and Amen 🙏

    Thanks for sharing your story.
    Our God is great 👍

    Like

Leave a comment